Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 on the deed, 1 on the loan .may file BK

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

2 on the deed, 1 on the loan .may file BK

Hi, its my first time posting a message.

I'm reading everything on what and how to file BK. I'm considering it. However I don't want to hurt

my husbands credit.  We have a 2nd home in Fl. We are both on the deed.  Only my husband is on

the primary mortgage. Balance of primary is 238k.  Additionally we have a Home equity 60K.  I'm the borrower.  It doesn't show up on his credit report.   He hasn't worked in over a year.  Although current on CC debt and 2 mortgages and other unsecured lines of credit, we have depleted savings.  I net 3200 monthly and our output is $7000 monthly.  I'm really scared now. We can't sell the FL home.  I am willing to sell primary home and move to an apartment while our credit is still decent.  723 and 801.

What happens to the  Home Equity I'm the borrower on, if I file for BK and will it impact my husbands credit?

Does anyone know?

Message Edited by Tiger1 on 06-20-2009 07:00 PM
Message Edited by Tiger1 on 06-20-2009 07:02 PM
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 2 on the deed, 1 on the loan .may file BK

I take it you don't live in Florida, which has some interesting rules about housing and bk.

If you have a second home with any equity at all and you file bk, that home could be taken by the court.  the non-filing spouse would receceive a portion of the proceeds after the sale, it depends on your district.

Get thee to a bk attorney where you live and start asking questions.  Most offer free consultations.

REMEMBER, THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE.

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tks.  My husband has been unemployed over a year, no unemployment benefits.  We are current on all mortgages, credit cards still meeting mins.,  His score is 801 and I'm 724 due to high debt to income.