Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

After 7 months FINALLY DISCHARGED!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

After 7 months FINALLY DISCHARGED!

First off I want to thank everyone on this forum for their advice. Today I finally got my discharge!! I filed for BK 7 back in March, had my 341 in May, and turned in the additional bank statments the trustee requested the day after my 341 and from then on there was ALOT of waiting. My trustee requested a total of 3 extentisons the last one was denied by my lawyer and they went to court, and the judge told the trustee he had a week to wrap things up. I had a Rule 2004 examintion last week, it lasted less than 2 hours and I was told I would get my discharge. And TODAY I did! So happy to put my BK behind me, I was very stressed the whole time. I have been receiving Capital One pre-approval mail for the past 5 months and today I was approved for the Platnium MC with a $3000 cl. Very happy, will be making multiple payments every month. I joined NFCU a few months ago through my step dad and hope to get a CC from them soon. 

7 REPLIES 7
Guyatthebeach
Valued Contributor

Re: After 7 months FINALLY DISCHARGED!

Hawaiilover441,

Congratulations on your discharge!  I remember feeling well of having the burden of the past going away and the great financial unknown ahead of you. 

Since you are already a member of Navy Federal, I would definitely apply for a credit card and a loan when you’re ready. I would also take advantage of their great CD rates to save some money too.

Best of luck on your rebuild.

Guyatthebeach

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

When do you suggest I apply for a cc with NFCU?

Message 3 of 8
Guyatthebeach
Valued Contributor

I would wait until you check your CR to make sure everything is reporting correctly. I would recommend you read Soulmaster’s 700 in 24 thread.