Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Back to Back Bankruptcy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Back to Back Bankruptcy

I need help. I am 32, and I have filed bankruptcy twice... within a year of each other. It started over a bad relationship 6 years ago. I stayed with a woman to try and make things work after we got pregnant. Fast forward to 2014 my son is born, best thing ever. Shortly before that I purchased a house so that we could have a home for our son. I was still trying disputed the clear mental health issues she had. She was set on having a large house... for the 3 of us. She was also unable to purchase a home as she was still in bankruptcy from her marriage years ago that, come to find out, she ruined also.

So with that, my annual income being $39k as a police officer, my mother co-signed for me on a $205k mortgage with the condition that my coparent pay half the mortgage since she won’t qualify for the loan. I was 27 at the time, first house.

Well flash forward, I no longer could afford the house on $39k annually and the to top it off, all of her power and wisdom she had me fired from where I worked for getting a protective order against her. I later had to file Chapter 7 because I was so far behind on the mortgage, crippling attorney debt from custody and I was forced to move back home.

Flash forward to almost two years later, my bankruptcy is discharged and I’m starting to rebuild despite paying $975/mo in child support on a new salary of $41k annually. Then my ex decides to sue me and wins $25k. On top of paying my outrageous child support on time and regularly with zero arrears, then she is going to file a garnishment after I’ve moved into a house to rent and have my life together. With that said I had to file Chapter 13 in 2017 and it expires 2022.

My question is, how can I get this $25k paid off quickly and I want to purchase a home. Small, 2 bedroom home no more than $120k. Can this be done?