Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Car Loan After Chapter 7 BK

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Car Loan After Chapter 7 BK

Hello, 

I am new to the form but I have been reading threads posted for a few months now during my BK process. I would first like to say that I am so very happy to be apart of a community that shares the same experience as myself regarding the road to recovery from bankruptcy. 

I filed for BK in July and was recently discharged with 648 being my highest score from TU. I have done a few things to help my score including getting a secured card, opening up a Fingerhut account, and I was added to a very close friend of mines Amex card (she is very good with her credit). Before filing, my score was at 529 so seeing the increase in my score has been in exciting. 

In a few months, I will need new car but I am afraid of the results stemming from having the BK on my report. I want to at least get my credit score up to a 680 before making this move. I have decided that I want to purchase the car from Carvana by either using their financing options or seeing if I am approved for an auto loan with a credit union and using that to make my purchase. Do you guys have any advice you can give me on this process? Anything I should look out for or be prepared for? Are my chances of getting approved likely? 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
missy42
Regular Contributor

Re: Car Loan After Chapter 7 BK

Hi Demearld,