Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ch 7 Bankruptcy - No Income Anymore

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ch 7 Bankruptcy - No Income Anymore

Hi,

I am new to the bankruptcy scene and am looking to declare over the next few months.

Just wondering what the success rate with bankruptcy is?  It is not for business-related purposes but just personal because of an illness-related injury.  I am hoping to clear the discharge ASAP but am worried about the process and how successful it is, whether or not I need a lawyer, etc.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Ch 7 Bankruptcy - No Income Anymore

Also, how long of a time frame do I have?  I stopped paying monthlys about 4-6 months ago and am getting settlements in the mail for the debt.  Thanks.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

If by success rate you mean the people who get a discharge, I would bet is probably in the neighborhood of 90%. The number drops a bit for debtors who don’t hire an attorney.

You can do it yourself, but you should do a LOT of research about the bankruptcy law before you file yourself if you go down that path.
Honestly, I think it’s worth the money to hire a lawyer. It could possibly cost you more in the long run to not hire a lawyer, especially if you have a lot of assets can be exempted.
It’s your choice either way but if you’ve already decided you’re going to file, save enough money up for an attorney.
I can’t really say to stop paying the cards since I’m not a lawyer and cannot give legal advice, but just make saving for a lawyer a priority if you go down that route.
Get some quotes from different BK attorneys. I’ve found often they want your business so they will match the price of another attorney sometimes. This is helpful if you find a closer one but don’t wanna pay them more just because they’re closer.
Anyway, if you have any questions, post them here, we will do our best to answer.
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable