cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge-Off After Bankruptcy Filing Date...Yes or No??

tag
Lippy4246
Established Member

Charge-Off After Bankruptcy Filing Date...Yes or No??

This is my first time posting on here as I have spent the last year or so researching the site for an answer to this issue with mixed results. I filed BK in 9/2009 and discharged on 1/2010. To preface this, I had no derogatories pre-BK. On my Experian credit report for my BoA credit card there is a charge-off dated 12/2009. I disputed this last year and the OC verified it. So after reading up about the subject on here the OC can't place a CO after the BK has been filed. So I pulled a new report and called Experian and got someone who was fairly helpful and spoke to another associate and told me that the OC can't list a CO after discharge. I told her that this violates the BK stay (from what I read here on myfico).  She repeated the same thing she said making me more confused.

So my question is can the OC put the CO on my credit report after I file for BK?  And if not what do I do?

Thanks in advance

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
0REDSOX7
Valued Contributor

Re: Charge-Off After Bankruptcy Filing Date...Yes or No??

I am actually going through this right now.

Let me ask you...did you keep paying up until you filed or did you stop paying when you retained.  For me, my payment status is listed as charged off after I filed.  See my link below.

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Rebuilding-Your-Credit/Tell-me-if-this-is-right/m-p/3005002