Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Score Confusion after BK Discharge

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Score Confusion after BK Discharge

Hello. This is my first time posting. I hope I can get some help.

We’ve been discharged for one month from our chapter 13. So thankful we are finally able to get this behind us. Now we are looking at our credit reports. I’m confused at what I’m seeing on credit karma. My Transunion is showing as a 596. My Equifax is showing as a 709. Why are they so different? When I look at the Equifax details I am seeing that all of my accts are showing the payments status as IIB and the accts are all
Closed.

When I look at the Transunion details I see the payment status as “on payment plan” for all my accts. Also Discover is showing as open, one missed payment. (Showing closed on Equifax.)

Why are they so different? What can I do to get my credit better. I’m new to all of this after bk information. My head is spinning.

My husband and I recently applied for Capital One Platinub cards. We were both approved, each, for a $3,000 limit. No annual fee. The interest rate is high, 26%. We will not abuse them. Just want to build our credit back up. I’m actually scared out of my mind to use mine for even a $20 transaction.

Thanks for reading my post. I hope I get some responses as to what I should be doing. Thank you in advance.

-Melissa
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Credit Score Confusion after BK Discharge

Credit Karma ARE NOT true FICO scores, so we really can't try to figure it out.

I suggest you order your actual "FICO" scores to see what you scores are.

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable