cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discharged a week ago and car broke down, what should I do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discharged a week ago and car broke down, what should I do?

Received my discharge papers about a week ago, and what do you know my car broke down. My credit score is 553 and the the car dealership says they can finance me but my rate will be high (which I already knew). They did mention that if I wait about a month, my credit will probably go up to 600 which would make me eligible for prime rates. My car won't be able to make it a month, but if my score can go up in time to go from paying 10% oppose to 18% I guess I can try and wait.

My question is, will my credit jump up that quickly or should I just suck it up and get a car now?

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Discharged a week ago and car broke down, what should I do?

I'm not an expert in BK, so bumping for others, but wouldn't the cost to fix it be less than the amount needed for a down payment?
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Received my discharge papers about a week ago, and what do you know my car broke down. My credit score is 553 and the the car dealership says they can finance me but my rate will be high (which I already knew). They did mention that if I wait about a month, my credit will probably go up to 600 which would make me eligible for prime rates. My car won't be able to make it a month, but if my score can go up in time to go from paying 10% oppose to 18% I guess I can try and wait.

My question is, will my credit jump up that quickly or should I just suck it up and get a car now?