cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mistake-Could use some guidance, please

tag
ACDTJ

Mistake-Could use some guidance, please

I did something really stupid. I think, really stupid. Explored cc options in Credit Karma curiosity got the best of me, I applied and was approved for $2000 limit card. I don't even plan on using it. I'm currently in ch 13. 

Should I cancel it right away? Tell my attorney? (Mod cut - not here, please. Be mindful of the myFICO Forums TOS @ACDTJ) not use it?  My biggest fear is getting my plan thrown out. I feel sick. 

any advice is greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Mistake-Could use some guidance, please

I am by no means an expert , but I believe you must have the BK trustee's permission before acquiring a credit card/debt .

I am sure others will chime in, but I suggest you contact your attorney and sooner then later .

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 7
ACDTJ

Thanks so much for the reply. I'm going to reach out first thing Monday AM 

Message 3 of 7
ashjt2011
Regular Contributor

Agreed. Ask your attorney and go from there. Mine told me to absolutely not make any financial decisions without contacting her. 

With that said, I asked her before starting my rebuild during my Ch 13 bankruptcy plan and she told me there was nothing prohibiting me from rebuilding/taking on new debt in my plan (although, it wasn't her recommendation to do so, and instead live by my budget- which I've done but am just using CC to pay expenses to build credit). 

Message 4 of 7
hoosier64
Valued Member