cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Bankruptcy Journey (Updated 03-18-2019)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: My Bankruptcy Journey (Not Yet Filed)

This also doesn’t factor in the interest but now the numbers are getting too complex and I’m not that good at math so I think these estimates are good enough.
Message 11 of 39
Anonymous
Not applicable

I realize you guys are not attorneys but I realized two potential problems with my BK case.
1. My attorney knows I sold a car about a month ago to someone who is not a family member. This was so I could make a debt consolidation payment to my creditors.
The problem with this sale, is the seller wanted me to report $200 for the sale so he could pay less taxes and I actually sold it for $1,000.
I’m worried that the trustee may question how much I actually received if I tell him the truth. But the money was deposited to my bank account and immediately paid to creditors, so that’s where that $1,000 randomly came from. I just don’t know if the trustee will take issue with this or not. I was not contemplating bankruptcy when I sold it to him or else I may have not done it that way.
2. The second issue is that I’m afraid creditors may object to my income and call it fraud.
My income did actually change, I made more money last year when I applied for the credit cards than I make this year. I’m worried they will say I incurred the debt under false pretenses.
Message 12 of 39
Anonymous
Not applicable

I think you’re overthinking this. A difference of $800 in the sale of the car is hardly considered concealing assets. Plus, you have a paper trail of the money going right back out to creditors. Although IMHO you should never be part of someone else’s scheme to pay less tax. If they want to do that let them do it without your involvement. That, to me, is not worth the risk.