Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Bankruptcy Journey

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My Bankruptcy Journey

I am new to myfico. I have been a silent follower for about a month now, and you guys have some really encouraging stories. 

I recently filed my Chapter 7 on November 27th, and had my 341 meeting this morning. I know the biggest thing to rebuilding is to have  patience. My goal is to eventually buy a home with my husband, and establish healthy credit. I have no idea where to start, but I will be waiting until discharge before I attempt to open any lines of credit. I have taken the initiative to open a NFCU checking and saving, but have no idea really where to go from there. 

Open to all advance. 

thanks Smiley Happy 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: My Bankruptcy Journey

Congrats the burden will be over soon. Best way to help you is who got burned? And yes wait at least 60 days after DC to let all involved in the BK update your files. Come here and ask questions before you make any moves. Seen too many come here after DC asking for help due to going the wrong route the get back to where you were before. List who got burned and we'll help you out on which way to go.

Message 2 of 5
Faith_Hope
Valued Member

Hello AngelB!

You are almost at the finish line. I'm new here as well...1 year post bk7. I finally had the courage to post my journey today. Just know that you are not alone in yours. You will find great information on here to help w/ your rebuilding journey. I think NFCU secured CC would be a great start.

Feel free to take a read a bit about my journey. Hopefully this helps. https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Bankruptcy/Rebuilding-Journey-Planning-to-purchase-a-home-after-2-y...

Blessings in 2022
Score Goals: 720
Fico 8 Scores
EQ:687 TU:679 EX:667
BK7 DIS: 12/2017
Current Cards