Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Member- Trying to bounce back

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Member- Trying to bounce back

Hi all! I’m brand new to My FICO but I LOVE these forums so far! Sorry this is long, but if anyone can offer insight and is bored enough to read, I’m willing to learn.

I converted to Ch 7 bk last August because I was in a ch 13 and had a series of medical issues befall my family back to back last year while I was out on maternity leave and my husband couldn’t carry the weight of home with just my limited income at that time so things started falling behind. I’m typically the primary breadwinner and my “extra” debt was from before we got married, so I filed by myself. I was pretty current on everything when I filed. Discharged since about October 2016.

I started a Self Lender account Dec 2016 and have stayed current on it. I’m $98 from paying it off, which is right on track. I got a secured Cap 1 card in Jan for the $49 deposit and have ensured that I pay in full or almost in full by due date and don’t use it again before reporting date, so my utilization always reflects as below 10%. I kept my home in the bk, but the mortgage of course doesn’t report on my credit reports at all.

Last week, I applied for the Discover It card and was approved for $12K limit. I also applied for Cap 1 Quicksilver this week and got the 7-10 day review message. I got a call the next day that it was because they needed to verify my identity, but since I already had a card w/ them and they were able to reach me over the phone, they were able to bypass that and proceed w/ app review. I was told that I’d get the status in a few days. I haven’t heard back, so I called the automated # today and learned that I was approved (don’t know limit yet).