Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New credit apprehension!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New credit apprehension!

Hey all, I’m new to myFICO and I’m trying to find my way back to the excellent credit rating I had just a couple years ago. I know it’s going to be a long road.... My CH7 discharged 4 months ago and I have yet to apply for any new credit for fear of being denied and taking an unnecessary HP. I burned just everyone in town, so I know it’ll will be awhile before I can get into their good graces (AE: 14k, BB: 3.8k, CO: 8.5k, Chase: 35k, and Citi: 13k, Synchrony: 6k).

According to Credit Karma and NerdWallet my scores are TU: 683, Equif: 689, and Experian: 632 (Experian site). I’ve tried the pre-qual for CO, Disc, and Citi - no offers. BofA recommended a secured card and Kohl’s said that I am Weldon’s to apply. I’d like to apply for a BofA travel rewards card and if not approved, I can contact them and request a secured CC using the same HP.

Let me know what you guys think. I’m open to suggestions!
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
randomguy1
Valued Contributor

Re: New credit apprehension!

Do you have a banking relationship with any of these credit cards? If so, I would pursue a secured card with them and Discover.*

CreditKarma scores are Vantage scores so they are pretty much frowned upon by everyone as a gauge of if you are qualified for credit or not. Try creditchecktotal for $1 and cancel before their trial period is over. It will provide you with all 3 FICO scores as well as detailed credit reports.

*I don't have experience with a bankruptcies and timing so I would wait on advice on that.

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Bankruptcy/Bankruptcy-Friendly-Credit-Cards-Pt-2/td-p/3999737

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: