cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I file or get a 12k limit credit card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I file or get a 12k limit credit card?

I am really struggling with the decision to file Ch. 7 or not. I am able to afford all of my credit cards and monthly expenses. My problem is the 11k I have in loan debt. Should I apply for a credit card with that limit? Are there any legit consolidation companies I should try? Or just file ch 7? My credit card debit is under 7k, collections debt around 6k, and loans are 11k. I am a student, and took a pay cut when I lost my job, so my Income is only 30k.
24 REPLIES 24
pipeguy
Senior Contributor

Re: Should I file or get a 12k limit credit card?

This is a quote I made in another thread recently:  

If I were you I'd buckle down and pay things down as quickly as possible and you'll recover fairly quickly. Bankruptcy on the other hand is 10 years of haunting, not so much that you can't recover creditwise, but it'll haunt you at times and 20% of your annual income is not worth that price IMO.

Again in my opinion, bankruptcy should be used as a matter of last resort, not as a matter of convenience and yes I've been there, much MUCH worse than $20k in the hole and I recovered without bankruptcy, so my advice is from that point of view too. 

You said: I am able to afford all of my credit cards and monthly expenses. My problem is the 11k I have in loan debt."

Are you really going to file bankruptcy over $11k when in fact you stated you can afford to pay the debt?  IMO the fact that you are in debt is no reason to do anything but work to pay off the debt(s) filing bankruptcy is a cop out in your case, not a need. Not trying to be harsh, just stating facts - at least IMO. 

Message 2 of 25
Anonymous
Not applicable