Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex business Card at default -Not my business

tag
cabronsaim
Contributor

Amex business Card at default -Not my business

I work as a manager for a small business that belongs to a family member.

About 6-7  years ago I opened a business credit card with Amex on my name for the business and used it actively for several years untill the business started going down and the bill started to grow. About 9 months ago Amex cancelled the card on me.

The bill is currently about $24k

It's been now about 3 months I haven't sent a payment and they have not hit my credit rating.

How does this work legally if I can't pay this?

The business isn't mine and neither is the debt. But the Card was open in my name.

I can't remember if they asked for the business Tax Id.

They surely have my SSN as I had a personal account with them too. The personal account is paid and closed.

3/30/12: EX: 680 TU:667 EQ: 655
4/14/12: EX: 680 TU:678 EQ: 670

BOFA: 0/1k / CAP1: 0/1.75k / CITI: 700/2k / AMEX Gold:NPSL
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex business Carr at default -Not my business

Hello,

You may want to ask this question in the Business Credit section of the forum:

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Business-Credit/bd-p/businesscredit

American Express does not report business credit to personal credit reports which is why the lates have not yet impacted you.

However, most American Express small business cards are personally guaranteed, which means that the primary applicant of the account will be personally responsible for all charges and payments to the card. 

I do not have any personal experience with past due American Express small business cards; however, I would expect that collection activity will begin and those more than likely will impact your personal scores and credit.