cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex seems to be playing games with me and im not sure why

tag
awp17

Amex seems to be playing games with me and im not sure why

Im a small business owner, Im in the construction and development business, I started the company back in 2010, got incorperated in 2011 and have been enjoying building my company. I have had prior high end paying jobs but decided i wanted to be my own boss and quit working for dad. So I branched out on my own. Long story short is I have quite a bit of prior credit but my CR has flucuated over the past year or so as I continue to build the company. 

Anyway I currently have 4 amex cards (I have about 11 cards total business and personal) 2 are personal 2 are buisness. Personal ones are a green card and Hilton honors supass, business are a platinum and lowes. The charge cards when I applied for them both gave me the option to carry a balance, I said yes in case I had a tight month, but have rarly ever carried a balance on them. 

Ok so fast forward to about a month ago, Get a letter from amex they are putting a limit on my business platinum card to 17,900, and removing my ability to carry a balance. I had carried over about 5k that month which they said they would still allow me to carry but I paid it off anyway just for good measure. The reason being my CR had dipped to 615 and my amex utilization was to high, I checked on FICO and they said 686 so I was annoyed at the fact they were so off on my CR and annoyed that for someone who has has their cards since 09 and has never had a late payment and never carried for more than 3 months on any of my credit cards is being limited, especally when some months I have been able to charge more than 50k and paid if off less than 30 days later. But I let it go as I knew I wouldnt get anywere.