Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding the PG - Credit Cards and Other Types of Debt

tag
gingerdad
Valued Member

Understanding the PG - Credit Cards and Other Types of Debt

Ok, want to confirm a couple of things as I establish credit for a couple of businesses. 

First is my legal/consulting practice - I have been a solo attorney since September.  Applied for an received an Amex Gold at that time; applied and was denied a working capital LOC by US Bank (my credit score has subsequently gone up 80 points and equifax FICO is 770+). 

2nd is a completely unrelated business; legal entity formed in January, with just a little bit of activity thus far.  No credit card/financing for it yet.

So wanted to confirm:

1.   "Hard" Inquiries.  Banks these days will require PGs for business ccs and most loans.  So in most cases, any application for business financing is going to result in a hard personal inquiry.  We can talk about the fairness of that until the cows come home, but it is not going to change that reality.

2.  Utilization/Payment History For Card in Bus's name with PG.  If the card is in the businesses' name, the extension of credit and actual utilization will not hit my personal credit file.  I am looking at my Transunion credit report and it shows the initial inquiry from Amex but not the actual CC (or its corresponding utilization and payment history).

3. CC in Individual Name and Business's.  I have a couple of credit cards with high limits (30k and 20k) in my individual name; been thinking about exploring with those banks adding the business to the cards.  Don't know if that will fly but want to explore.  If I am able to do that would assume the utilization and payment history would hit my personal credit file.

Does that look right?