Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Gold + BCE Approval Odds?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX Gold + BCE Approval Odds?

Hi everyone, I'm new to the myFICO forums and relatively new to my credit building journey. I'm currently a student with a Discover it chrome card (aged 3 mos.) and recently just got a CLI to $2,300 for that card.

With that being said, I would like to get an Amex card or two (Gold & BCE) because of their perks. I currently have a FICO 8 (EX) of 750 based on my Discover Scorecard. I currently make about $12,000 a year (live at parent's w/ $0 rent) with a pristine payment history with some student loans (AAoA of 1.5 yrs). I also checked the pre-qualified offers on Amex's website and I'm pre-qualified for both.

Question is, should I apply for one, or both on the same day? I have heard of people with similar stories to mine get approved no problem. Should I apply for one before the other? I'm nervous because last month I had high utilization (I fixed it from 74% to 3% this month) and they denied me the BCE based solely on my score (681 at the time). I would love to hear all your input!
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: AMEX Gold + BCE Approval Odds?

Amex prequals are generally solid. It’s been said that if you look at the card stats and see a fixed APR, that’s another assurance that you’re good to go. If the prequals are real and Amex is inclined to grant the cards, you shouldn’t have a problem with both at once to combine the approvals into one HP. As always, YMMV and everyone’s profile is different, but you have a thin clean file over a year old and your EX score is well above what should be needed. I’d say go for it.
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
 both at once to combine the approvals into one HP.