Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Platinum denied after Gold approval, recon failed but no new info

tag
sstromberg
Established Member

AMEX Platinum denied after Gold approval, recon failed but no new info

Back in November, I applied for the Gold and Platinum cards from Amex. Amex autoapproved the Gold and sent the Platinum to "In Progress," where it sat for 2 weeks before being denied, which I though was strange since the UW for both cards seems to be the same.

After a few weeks went by, but within 30 days of the denial, I called recon to see what I could do given that I had charged and paid a good amount on the Gold card and the Amex site even showed that my EX Fico had gone up from 677 to 736 (as of January 4, 2020). I also updated my income on the Amex site to reflect an increase from $28k last year to $38k this year (I am a working student). 

The app went back to In Progress on the status page, then to Declined today. But, the denial letter is dated for the original denial and the quoted FICO is the older score (677). I tried to call recon to see why they hadn't considered any of the new info I gave them and the computerized system told me the decision was not overridden and I couldn't talk to a CSR about it. 

Any advice? I really want to get this Plat card soon as I'm doing a lot of travel in the next 6 months and the card will be far more useful than the Gold. 

I should mention I went on an app spree the same day I apped for the Gold card, so there's a number of inquiries on my EX report. But, only one of the new accounts has reported to EX so far. So, I'm concerned that the FICO will plummet next month when 3 new accounts get reported. 

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: AMEX Platinum denied after Gold approval, recon failed but no new info

Too many apps to close together... wait 2-3 months and maybe reapply then
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable