Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice needed: Amex Plat app hit with 4506T but no tax files

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice needed: Amex Plat app hit with 4506T but no tax files

It was all going so well...  I just hit 6-months of credit history, got 3CCs over this period (Discovery IT/$1000, Amex Gold, BoA Cash rewards/$6600) and, armed with my brand new FICO8 scores of 720 - 726 across CRAs got overconfident and applied for the Amex Platinum yesterday.

Then, bam, no auto-approval and a subsequent request for 4506T to proceed with the application. My problem is, as I am new to the US, I have never filed taxes and so obviously filing a 4506T would not help. My stated income of $120k is legit (in fact, low, as I have not included P2) but it's global income, not US-sourced as I am here on an international placement at a major US university for my overseas employer (exchange visa). Still, it is income "available to me" and when US tax filing season comes it is worldwide income that counts. However, that also means I would not have W2 pay stubs to show in the meantime. Our US checking account would show turnover of $10k+ per month, with international transfers as income.

Is there anything I can do to keep out of trouble with Amex? My priorities are:

1. Avoid shutdown of the Amex Gold that I already have

2. Being able to apply for future Amex cards without hitting the same snag.

3. Getting the Amex Plat in the end, though not ruining my current/future Amex relationship is more important.

My options would seem to be:

1. Filing the 4506T even though it will be returned "empty"

2. Ignoring the request and letting the application lapse

3. Withdrawing the pending application

4 Trying to talk to some human at Amex, but I really do not want to raise any further red flags given my unusual circumstances.

I feel really stupid to have applied now...  Any kind advice out there?

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
CreditInspired
Community Leader