Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AmEx Prequalified EveryDay DENIED

tag
exCYter
Valued Member

AmEx Prequalified EveryDay DENIED

I just app'd for the EveryDay card, I've been coming up as prequalifed for it for a few months.  First I app'd and was approved for the AmEx PRG card.  Then, since I understand AmEx only does one HP per day even if you apply for multiple cards, i applied for an EveryDay card via a 25k signon bonus link I found when I searched for cards via incognito.  It asked an extra question about my employer name and level of person assets the PRG didn't--filled that out--came back denied.  

Do I have any recourse?  Really PO'd, I actually wouldn't have applied for the PRG if I wasn't prequalified for the EveryDay--I want the additional CL on my report.  Strange thing is, I wasn't prequalified for the PRG--only the Green card was showing.  

This sucks.  They said they'd send me a letter in the mail with the reason but wouldn't talk about it over the phone.  

Scores as of 5/18/16: EQ 674, TU 653, EX 635
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: AmEx Prequalified EveryDay DENIED

Sorry about the denial 

IIRC you had a Green mail offer for 25k bonus which was targeted 

Plat/PRG/Grn all have the same UW so you can be approved for any of those 3 if you qualify for any one

This is exactly why we tell people to apply for what you want and not settle for other cards

Recourse: You have none with Amex unless there was a mistake on CR's at time of HP and either way (recon) will still cost you another HP in 99% of these cases 

You may have had a better chance for the ED had that been your first app followed by PRG

Hope you got the 50k bonus so that's at least is a ray of sunshine and since AF is waived may as well test drive for a year and see if you like it 

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?