Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bank of America declined ??? Why

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bank of America declined ??? Why

So I applied for the Bank of America Premium Rewards and I just got the letter why I was declined.
First alittle info on me:
I’m a student making a round $16,500 per year gross. And I do usually put some of my tuition on a 0apr card for my job to reimburse me and pay it off..

I currently have the Cash Rewards credit card and it had a balance of $1000 with a pending payment of $1000 when I applied, and well in the letter I received, the reason why they declined me was because:

“Number, Type, and/or Balance of accounts with us and/or our affiliates”

I don’t have any other Bank of America card, unless the fidelity counts? But isn’t that Elan financial Owned by Us Bank?

Is there a way that I can recon the denial ? At the time of the Pulled Report it was a 730 FICO Experian.
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Bank of America declined ??? Why

Fidelity is not part of BoA/Merrill Lynch.

Did you have any accounts (deposits, loans, etc.) with NationsBank, FIA, MBNA or any other affiliates that may have been absorbed by BoA?

The Premium Rewards has more stringent approval criteria than their other CCs OP.  You can try the reconsideration route, however, it's likely they will stand by their original decision.

What other reasons were cited on the letter?  Reference the bottom (or reverse) that displays the score that provides some background as to the other reasons your score/profile did not meet their UW criteria.

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

That’s all the letter says, In the back of the second page where my score is showing it’s says clearly that:

“This factors only relate to your credit score and The reason for OUR credit decision is given separately in the first paper, and that ”. That’s it.