cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best card to apply for- thin credit file.

tag
Zenway

Best card to apply for- thin credit file.

Hi! I'm new here and thankful for any advice. I have good credit (775-790) but a thin file, and currently only have one old chase cc card in good standing with a 3k limit and zero utilization. I'm not very experienced with credit for my age- my husband closed some old joint cards (0 balance, perfect payment history) which now I realize was not the best choice- and we usually pay for things without credit. Now interested in expanding to have more credit, utilizing rewards, and will pay off everything in full each month. Except- we have an upcoming move and it would be great to do some of the furniture in installments. I also don't want to raise my utilization too much though and affect my score, so not sure what's best. Also looking at sometime in next year needing an auto loan. Sorry for the scattered info! Just wondering if anyone has advice on the best card to apply for to get the highest minimum limit, best for my situation, or if anyone recommends store cards (like the ikea one) for interest free spaced out payment for big items like furniture.  Just started focusing on this stuff! Income decent but not high- roughly 80k. Thanks! 

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
AllZero
Mega Contributor

Re: Best card to apply for- thin credit file.

@Zenway wrote: