Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CLI Denial with Barclay

tag
WLRK11
Regular Contributor

CLI Denial with Barclay

I applied for Barclay's Rewards MC about a year ago after receiving an offer in the mail. My initial CL was $2,000 (biggest at the time) and they did approve a CLI a few months later. I asked for $5,000 and they countered with $3,000. 

Over the weekend, after my success with BOA's love button, I decided to hit the Barclay's love button and got the 7-10 day message. Today, I called into Barclay's recon line and was denied due to too many new accounts. They also mentioned that they like to see large payments. I've been carrying a balance for several months as it is at 0% until early 2015.

I was thinking about applying for an Arrival+ WEMC in December or January, but I'm not sure of my odds now. I'll probably try to PC this card to Barclay Ring once the 0% offer expires. Ain't nobody got time for 19.99%!

Age: 20s | AAoA: 2 yrs | FICO Scores: 700s | Inq: EX: ?, EQ: ?, TR: ? | GARDENING AS OF 06/2014

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
enharu
Super Contributor

Re: CLI Denial with Barclay

Don't apply for the Arrival. Postpone it by a few more months at the very least. Nothing much is going to change between now and January. Just give the new accounts time to age. Barclays is known to be new account sensitive.
JPMorgan Palladium (100k), AmEx Platinum (NPSL), AmEx SPG (46k), AmEx BCP (42k), Chase Sapphire Preferred (47k), Citi Prestige (31k), Citi Thank You Preferred (27k), Citi Executive AAdvantage (25k), JPMorgan Ritz-Carlton (21k), Merrill+ (15k), US Bank Cash+ (22.5k), Wells Fargo (12k), Bloomingdale’s (12.4k), Chase Freedom (5k), Discover IT (5k).
Message 2 of 21
JSS3
Valued Contributor

@WLRK11 wrote: