Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citi Prestige Instantly Denied FICO 742

tag
Winesnoblv
Regular Contributor

Re: Citi Prestige Instantly Denied FICO 742

I applied for the Citi Prestige in March and was immediately declined as well.  When I attempted to recon, the reason given was I had too much available credit for my income.  Since I have seen others with much more available credit than income on this site, I had to believe they only want those with over six figure incomes to have this card, since I was immediately approved for their AAdvantage MC last year with SL of $10k.  I then had a sp cli after 6 months to $13k.  I also have their PLC.  I have been banking with them for 8 years with both personal and business accounts.

Thick file with no negatives.  Scores are in signature.

FICO 8 EX 784 TU 786 EQ 786
FICO 9 EX 780
AMEX - Platinum, BCP, Delta Platinum, Simply Cash Plus, Blue Business Cash (Business)
Barclay - Arrival Plus, AAdvantage Aviator
Capital One - Venture, Sparks (Business)
Chase - FU, CSP
Citi - Premier, PLOC
Discover It Miles
TD Cash Visa
US Bank Altitude Reserve
Wells Fargo Propel AMEX
PNC Points Visa
FNBO Evergreen Visa
Message 11 of 48
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Hi @Anonymous thanks for sharing your DPs and welcome to the forums.

As some members have already chimed in, Citi's UW algorithms have assessed that your overall profile isn't thick and/or long enough for this product at the moment.

So, while the denial can seem like a headscratcher, the reasons aren't really bogus per se as Prestige isn't just any ordinary Citi card. Prestige and Executive cards typically have tighter UW requirements.

That being said, if you qualified for the TY Premier as a pre-approved offer, nothing wrong with seeing if that may fit your needs in the interim. The 50,000 public SUB is the same as is the the $4K spending requirement. Once the account has aged >12 months, you can contact Citi to see about a PC/upgrade to Prestige.