cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close Capital One card, and open a new one??

tag
dpatel917
Established Member

Close Capital One card, and open a new one??

Hello everyone, newbie here. Please forgive me if I have asked this question in the wrong area as this is my first post on myfico.

I currently have two cards with Capital One along with an auto loan. The two cards I have are the Quicksilver and QuicksilverOne. Both of these cards have a low $500 dollar limit. The issue I have is with the QuicksilverOne card. It has an annual fee of $39.00. I have called Cap1 many times and requested either a CLI, or a product change. None of those options are available to me. My Fico scores are in the low-mid 700's across all 3 credit bureaus, and my utilization rate every month is around 2-3% of my overall available credit ($27,500) across multiple cards. I opened this card in November 2018 when I started to rebuild my credit. I dont mind keeping the QS card as there is no AF on that one. I dont have a use for the QSOne card with the $39 annual fee. I have other cards with higher limits and better rewards. So, now I am looking into closing that card. My question is, how long after closing that QuicksilverOne card should I wait to apply for another Capital One card? I am looking into applying for the Venture card after closing the QSOne. I am not going to apply for it immediately, but I am looking for a general time frame. Any information/insight is greatly appreciated!

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor

Re: Close Capital One card, and open a new one??

I opened, and then closed my first CapitolOne card last year, at the date of closure I'd had it for only six weeks and closed it because, among other reasons, the low $1,000 limit was worthless to me.  Six months later, literally to the day, they sent me a pre-approved offer for a Quicksilver card with a $3,000 limit.