cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declined for Chase Freedom - Is Recon Worth It?

tag
joeyoey
Frequent Contributor

Declined for Chase Freedom - Is Recon Worth It?

Hi everyone,

So I've been hoping to apply for a Chase card for a few months.  I really wanted the CSP but decided to go with the Freedom because of the quarterly promos.  

Well, I got the 30 day message last night.  I tried calling today to check the status & to see if there was any information they needed to help make a decision & was immediately shot down.  They said I had too many cards open...which probably looks accurate at first glance, but most have zero balance and the ones I use I have for specific purposes & are paid off or mostly paid off each month...the AMEX BCE Pref for gas & groceries (& is also my everyday card for most things), my Chase Amazon for Amazon & restaurant purchases, my Cap One Venture for business expenses for miles, my Discover IT also for the quarterly promos. I also have another Cap One Venture One & an AMEX Delta Skymiles that I don't use & the balances are 0.  I have lots of other store cards that I opened up while I was trying to rebuild my credit (also 0 balances).  They're basically in a drawer & I'll never use them again.

So my question is...is there another number I can call?  Is it worth even trying?  This morning I was just sort of shocked & didn't even push back...just thanked her for the info & hung up.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Joey

Starting Score (02/01/2014): EQ 548 EX 548 TU 564
Current/Most Recent FICO Score (4/01/2015): EQ 686 EX 668 TU 669
Nov 1, 2015 Goal: 700 Across all 3

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

test

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
uswala
Senior Contributor

Re: Declined for Chase Freedom - Is Recon Worth It?

In my opinion a recon never hurts! 

Message 2 of 23
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

How long have you had the Chase Amazon?

Limit?

Message 3 of 23
Anonymous
Not applicable