cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enough history to apply for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer Visa Card?

tag
nk-karate
Established Member

Enough history to apply for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer Visa Card?

I am new to myFICO forums, so please allow me to explain.

I just started my full time job in North Carolina at IBM a month ago, but I have an excellent credit score around the 800 mark. Before starting, I applied for a WF Cash Wise card as my first card, and was surprisingly upgraded to Visa Signature with $5K limit. 

I applied for the Chase United MPE (MileagePlus Explorer) Visa Signature Card because I wanted the primary car rental insurance and I liked the perks of United card. Since my folks have that card and they added me as an AU, I was able to get a feel for whether the perks were worth it or not like the 2 lounge passes, priority boarding, checked bag, tsa pre, etc. Chase first rejected me because Chase thought I had too many cards open within 2 years, which I had to call and tell them that wasn't true. I told them that most of the accounts belong to my parents and I was an AU on most of them. Then they reconsidered my application and they rejected me again saying I had limited credit history, despite me having an excellent score. I've also been banking with Chase since my high school. Could you offer any advice?

As an alternative for now, I got approved for my second card, the Coastal Credit Union Visa Signature Rewards. 

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Aim_High
Super Contributor

Re: Enough history to apply for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer Visa Card?

Regardless of other factors like credit score, Chase is one of the larger banks that can be reluctant to accept thinner credit files like what you describe.  Don't be offended.  They just want a little more history behind you.