Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU cashRewards Denied

tag
brandon1767
Established Member

NFCU cashRewards Denied

Hey Everyone,

This is my first post on the forum, but I have been doing a lot of reading about NFCU. Decided to become a member of NFCU and apply for cashRewards. The system auto-denied me. Smiley Sad

I am a college student with a $14,000/year income. I have zero expenses and a good savings. I have had a Discover IT card ($1,500 limit) and Cap 1 Journey ($300 limit) for 3 months. I had 3 inquiries on my TU and a 688 TU vantage (no FICO's yet). I recon-ed through secure message right away and they said it will stay denied for credit reasons. Haven't recieved letter yet. 

Just curious what people think the issue was and when should I try applying again? I really want NFCU card. Probably slim history or no FICOs? Sucks, b/c I really wanted to get a start with Navy. 

Appreciate any thoughts,

Brandon

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I am AU on Syncrony card with $12,000 limit

Banking with: Ally Bank (Savings), NFCU (Credit), and US Bank (Biz and Personal Checking)
Started August 2018 (No Credit History)
FICO 8 (11/01/2021): EX 791, TU 800 | FICO 9 (11/01/2021): EQ 821
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: NFCU cashRewards Denied

Wait until they send you the reason letter/email then you will know what you need to focus on. 

Message 2 of 17
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

I just think it’s because your two recent cards are only 2 mos old. Try again at the 6-month mark. If declined again, try at the 12-month mark.

|| AmX Cash Magnet $40.5K || NFCU CashRewards $30K || Discover IT $24.7K || Macys $24.2K || NFCU CLOC $15K || NFCU Platinum $15K || CitiCostco $12.7K || Chase FU $12.7K || Apple Card $7K || BOA CashRewards $6K
Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Maybe but they just approved me with 3 new accounts.
Message 4 of 17
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Exactly.