cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New To Credit Building & Looking For Advice, 3rd Card?

tag
project21

New To Credit Building & Looking For Advice, 3rd Card?

Hi All,

Scores (from MyFico)

Equifax: 756

TransUnion: 734

Equifax: 734

Hi guys and gals

I recently signed up for myFico. I'm new to building my credit. (Haven't used credit in years/ pay cash for everything mentality). I have been reading the forum and honestly don't know where to begin.  The only credit card I have is a Chime credit builder card (I know it's not true credit).  I had one or two low-limit credit cards when I was younger (15 to 20 years ago) that were charged off. I've had student loans and a few auto loans in the past as well. Currently no auto loans. My first objectives:

• Obtain 3 tradelines
  • Obtain 5k in total revolving credit
  • Preferably obtain credit cards to use for general day-to-day expenses (groceries, paying bills, amazon purchases) Generally, all-purpose cards

After reading the forums, I've concluded (and please correct me if I am wrong) that it's necessary to obtain credit cards that I will use. I don't shop at big box department stores (use Amazon), don't use gas cards (use Uber) Credit cards with the most rewards are not that important right now (I know this will change). Quick and easy/easier approval is the current goal.

Looking for any helpful information to reach my initial objectives. My long-term goal is to build personal and business credit. 

Thanks in advance

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
MySunrise271
Established Contributor

Re: New To Credit Building & Looking For Advice

Welcome to MyFico😊,