Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not able to get AMEX cc after having an unpaid balance 10+ years ago

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Not able to get AMEX cc after having an unpaid balance 10+ years ago

I am brand new to myFICO, please let me know if this should be posted somewhere else :-)

Here’s my story:
Around 15 years ago, I left the country due to a work offer in Asia, my ex-boyfriend was using my information to apply with various credit cards with unpaid balance without me knowing it. And because I don’t need to run my credit while oversea, I didn’t know my credit dropped from 800 range to 500 range with 70k debt until maybe 8 years ago. My friend suggested me to see a credit lawyer and he helped me to on legal matters without needing to file bankruptcy or pay the debt that was not caused by me.

Recently, I applied for the AMEX platinum card and was rejected. The rep told me that because I have a balance with AMEX, I told the rep what happened and I was then transferred to a manager from another dept. A week later, I got a mail from AMEX stayed that my balance is now cleared. SOOO.... I reapplied and rejected once again.

Does anyone have experience like mine? Or does it mean I can never apply for an AMEX card?
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Not able to get AMEX cc after having an unpaid balance 10+ years ago

AMEX has a long memory...

However this sounds like fraud. Was a police report ever filed on the boyfriend?

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes, there’s a police report and was faxed to AMEX, I assumed that’s why AMEX removed the balance.
Message 3 of 8
Pikaboo-icu
Valued Contributor

Welcome to My Fico..000welcome17.gif

Perhaps it just needs a little time to update in the system.. 

You can also use some of the backdoor numbers, in the thread, at the top this page.

Maybe you'll get more definitive answers/results from one of them.

Good Luck! 

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable