Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PenFed Pathfinder Denied with 750 CS?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PenFed Pathfinder Denied with 750 CS?

So I applied to the PenFed Pathfinder and, much to my surprise, I was denied the card. The reason was because of "Utilization of accounts, number of accounts, and/or occurrence of a derogatory event." However, I have no derogatory events. I only have two other accounts (Capital One and Barclays). I'm not sure how I would be misusing these accounts? I tried calling PenFed for more info, but the person who answered was about as helpful as a wet cinderblock.

I inquire about this issue here not only to vent my frustration with PenFed, but I am curious as to what else I should be looking into when applying for CCs. I don't want to have a hard pull on my line only to get denied. The only thing I can think of is that I have a low income (I am a grad student and make less than $30k/year). However, I believe I should still qualify for having the at least the lowest line, which is $5k (one of my cards has $3.9k). I am fortunate enough to have no debt, and I have never made a late payment.

So, is there something else I'm missing? Do I literally have to wait until I'm not a grad student before I can start using the CCs I am interested in? Not sure it's worth pointing out, but my Equifax score that was given the HP actually read a credit score of 769, which was unexpectedly higher than my score on Credit Karma of 750. (Although now due to the hard pull, it is lower than 750..) Should I be alarmed in any way that my Equifax score and my Credit Karma score are apparently not aligned?