Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Penfed denial.....I'm stumped

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Penfed denial.....I'm stumped

Mid April I applied for the Penfed platinum rewards card and a line of credit.  I was approved for the cc with a $5000 SL.  I was conditionally approved for a LOC for $15,000 pending income verification.  They requested my past 2 months check stubs which I provided, then they requested my W2s for the past 2 years. I provided then with a mix of W2s and 1099s.  I was shocked when I logged in today today to find out I was denied stating they could not verify my income.  I work as an independent contractor and make over $300,000 yearly.  When I called to recon the CSR stated that two loan officers reviewed my documents and they could not approve me because of temporary income.  

Does Penfed have issue with contract work?  

What should I do at this point?

I'm not sure why they didn't approve me? 

Has anyone else had this problem with Penfed?

I have consistent income over the past two years as indicated by my W2/1099s. 

Please help.

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Penfed denial.....I'm stumped

Perhaps someone else who is with PenFed can answer the part of the question that is specific to PenFed.

However, you did not give them what they asked for and they would then be within their rights to deny you. Is there a reason you did not provide what they wanted? 

Message 2 of 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Perhaps someone else who is with PenFed can answer the part of the question that is specific to PenFed.

However, you did not give them what they asked for and they would then be within their rights to deny you. Is there a reason you did not provide what they wanted? 

As stated above, I'm a contract worker and I don't get W2s.  Most often I recieve 1099s.  That's what I gave them. If there are any other contract workers or self employed please chime in. 

Message 3 of 24