cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Relatively new to credit: Likelihood of Chase approval?

tag
jxrx1

Relatively new to credit: Likelihood of Chase approval?

Hello!
New to the forum and new to the US. Well, newish. I've been a permanent resident for about a year now and have been trying to figure out the credit system and start building some kind of credit because apparently building credit is the most important thing here (who'd have known).

Anyway, I luckily have had a relationship with Amex and have been a cardholder in my home country for about five years, which means I was able to easily get approved for a Platinum card. And I believe that also means that future card applications within Amex will not be a hard pull, which is a plus.

But that leaves me in a position where I'm considering my next move to help me build my credit and built out my credit card strategy.

I really would like to complement my Platinum with a Chase card (ideally a United Quest) but I'm concerned that I might be stuck on 'credit builder' cards for the next little while. 

Currently, in addition to the Platinum, I also have a Capital One Quicksilver Secured card and a Chime Credit Builder. FICO 8 at 715 according to Experian, oldest account is only 8 months old. Credit usage only ~9% thanks to one recurring payment on the Quicksilver card, but total credit available is only $200 due to the credit limit on the Quicksilver.

I guess my question is: thoughts on whether I'd be likely to be approved for a Chase card? As much as Amex seem to be okay with me, I get the feeling I'm not yet seen as too reliable by other credit providers (pre-approval on Capital One, Discover and Amazon all turned up pretty poor results). I wanna nab a Chase card while I'm under 5/24 if I can; I'm already at 3 (my fault for going too hard on the credit builder cards). 

3 REPLIES 3
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor