cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Short Credit History: Should I Get New Cards?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Short Credit History: Should I Get New Cards?

Hi All! This is my first post on the forums Smiley Very Happy

Firstly, I would like to thank all the contributors to this forum as the informed and intelligent advices helped me obtain 3 credit cards when I first started having credit. As an international student, I had no idea if I was even qualified but this forum educated me very well about how the US credit system works.

The 3 accounts that I have:

BoA Travel Rewards (opened 9/23) $500 SL

CapOne Journey Rewards (opened 6/29) $300SL, CLI to $800, Auto Increased to $1300 (3 months ago)

Discover Chrome (opened 7/01) $1250SL, Auto Increased to $1750 (2 months ago)

AAoA ~= 8 months

I keep my credit utilization ultra low (<2%) even though I use my cards everyday by paying when it shows up on the account but still leave some to close.

EX: 713 (Fico 8)

TU: 742 (VS 3)

EQ: 742 (VS 3)

So my itching fingers have been craving to apply for new cards. I'm looking at Chase Freedom Unlimited, Barclays Arrival/CashForward, perhaps an Amex or Citi card.

When I first started apping for cards, when I tried Chase and Barclays, they told me that they would reconsider my application after 6 months of history. The Barclays guy was also incredibly nice as he tried to push my app through without history.

Possible or wishful thinking?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
jacetx
Valued Contributor

Re: Short Credit History: Should I Get New Cards?

Have you tried the prequal sites for those lenders? 

Message 2 of 9
SecretAzure
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: