cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the risk to apply for Sallie Mae Mastercard?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Take the risk to apply for Sallie Mae Mastercard?

Hello, all.  I am looking to apply for my first credit card and the rewards of the Sallie Mae Mastercard look very appealing. However, I am unsure whether I would realistically get approved for this card.

As for my credit situation, my Equifax and TU scores are 681. I have no inquiries, no late payments, and my average account age is 8 years. All of the accounts in my credit history are student loans that are currently deferred (I'm a current grad student) and the newest of these is over 6 years old.  I would like to take advantages of the benefits of this card as soon as possible and I have not seen another card with comparable rewards; but I am conflicted, given the scores and circumstances that seem to have been approved & denied.  I am thinking that my low income (grad student stipend) and not great credit score mean that I will probably not be approved for this card; but, I do not have any experience with this, so I thought I would seek some advice.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Message 1 of 69
68 REPLIES 68
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Take the risk to apply for Sallie Mae Mastercard?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello, all.  I am looking to apply for my first credit card and the rewards of the Sallie Mae Mastercard look very appealing. However, I am unsure whether I would realistically get approved for this card.