Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This CU Pulled TU Vantage Score !!!

tag
jmos
Regular Contributor

This CU Pulled TU Vantage Score !!!

Hello MYficoers. I've been rebuilding pretty well since October 2017. So after my recent success earlier this month with NFCU, I thought that it would be a good idea to try for an unsecured card with Baxter Credit Union since I've also had their non graduating secured card since October 2017. So on 5/20/2019 , I called the nice CSR and explained how well my rebuild had been going since the early stages when I received the secured launch card with a 478 credit score after my BK7 in October 2017.  I  explained that my FICO scores (8&9) have increased at least 200 points since the rebuild began and the secured card was going nowhere. BCU provides a free TU vantage score and the CSR told me that that is the score that they use for credit card lending decisions. What!?!?! The CSR was able to see that I had a TU Vantage Score of 674, not great but not terrible, so I decided to go ahead and apply for the Simply Visa and rquested a reasonable credit line. No immediate decision. So I waited and a few days ago I received the denial letter with the following reasons:

A.Escalating Debt Load

B. Limited re-established credit since bankruptcy

Of course, I'll get over the rejection, but the fact that they pulled "Vantage Score" not FICO and their denial reasons were very interesting to say the least. 

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: This CU Pulled TU Vantage Score !!!

Wow, those are interesting reasons- and I'm even more surprised about them pulling the FAKO score. Thanks for the DP and good luck on your rebuild, seems like you're already well on your way!
Message 2 of 18
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor