Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which credit card should I apply for? Looots of student loans. Denied for Chase

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Which credit card should I apply for? Looots of student loans. Denied for Chase

Hello!

I would super appreciate some advice on which credit card to apply for Smiley Happy.

To give some history, I am currently in my 4th year of medical school so I have a lot of student loans. I wanted to apply for another credit card to help me out a little bit since I will be traveling a lot pretty soon to interviews for residency. I was looking at cards that offer a nice bonus and decided to apply for the Chase Sapphire Reserve. Oooops. I was denied as they stated that my loans showed up on my credit report as a monthly obligation, which is false since they're all in deferment. So that was my mistake for not reading online that they're very picky. I've been eyeing Capital One Venture, but I read online that they're also pretty picky and I don't want another hard inquiry from a denial Smiley Sad. Then I came upon BoA Premium Rewards, but I've read that they prefer people with a BoA bank account.

My current credit cards: AmEx Blue Cash Preferred and Citi TYP

Experian FICO: 772 | Equifax FICO: 799 (got this one from Citi) | Transunion Vantage: 730

Total credit limit: 11k

Credit utilization: Under 10%

Average account age: 5 years | Oldest account: 10 years

Inquiries: 2 on Experian and TU, 1 on Equifax

Advice please? Smiley Happy Thank ye kindly!

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
Hut1
Established Contributor

Re: Which credit card should I apply for? Looots of student loans. Denied for Chase

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello!

I would super appreciate some advice on which credit card to apply for Smiley Happy.