cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

question about timing an app for amex plus recent rebuilding work.

tag
KC2020

question about timing an app for amex plus recent rebuilding work.

Hey guys long time lurker first time poster. I have been working on my credit for the last 2 years slowly but surely and am finally at a place where i have no more collections. i do have a few lates but they are from more than 2 years ago now.

So here is my question and I appologize for the wall of text I am about to embark on.

First off current scores from today on my fico

equifax

647 went down 7 points today i think due to new penfed card appearing on my credit report yesterday.

transunion

619 this goes up and down last few months high of 635 low of 615

Experian

620 high of 642 this month but that was from amex site not from my fico. different scoring model i am sure. i.e. my fico 9 is lower than whatever score amex uses.

I know amex pulls ex and its somewhere around 640 for amex. I am not applying now as i just got recent cards in Jan/ feb with penfed, sportsmans, and target. I got these cards because i have been paying off old debt, i enrolled in a debt management plan which was great for one payment a month but horrible for closing accounts after payoff.  i am 2 years into a 3 year plan and with those accounts closing as I pay them off I wanted to get some new cards just to cushion the blow of loosing so much credit age.

So my dilemna now, I am an au on a amex platinum card since 2017.  its the only card I kept through the debt management program and I use and pay off about 1k a month on it consistently. no late payments excellent payment history for the last 4 years.  i want to apply for my own amex as opposed to the auth user.  I know I am borderline approval and wanted to know if my excellent history with them and amex seeing the payments coming from my bank account monthly will help me.

Other factors.

income 150k

all debt 18k