Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Blue Cash Preferred Approval!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX Blue Cash Preferred Approval!

Hello everyone, long time lurker, first time poster here! I graduated from college in 2015 and finally got a great job last November (2016). With my new income, I've become interested in building my credit and generating great cash back rewards. I am super excited that I got approved for the AMEX Blue Cash Preferred card and look forward to the 6% back at grocery stores!

A few data points for those interested: Despite my young age (24), I've had a fairly decent credit history. I opened a Discover More card for Students as soon as I turned 18 and have kept it active since (never missed a payment). Along with student loans from college, this helped me build my credit to about 710 (according to Discover's monthly FICO score from TU). With that, in the past 6 months I've opened an Amazon Prime Rewards VISA, Disney Premier VISA (going on a vacation to Disney World this summer and the $200 Disney Gift Card signup bonus seemed amazing along with 10% off at most Disney World gift shops and restuarants), and the AMEX Blue Cash Preferred.

Credit Limits are (issued in this order):

Discover - $2,000 (Should be higher, started with $1000 6 years ago and only put in my first CLI last week and they doubled it to $2,000.)

Amazon Rewards VISA - $500 (Just requested a CLI.)

Disney Premier VISA - $3,000 (Was very surprised and pleased with this SL.)

AMEX BCP - $1,000 (Not sure if this is a generous SL or not, happy regardless.)

I was most worried about getting approved for the AMEX card because I've heard they are a bit difficult to get your foot in the door with a limited credit history. So glad to be in with AMEX!!!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
JustBPatient
Established Contributor

Re: AMEX Blue Cash Preferred Approval!

Nice progress and congrats!!