cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

American Express 3X?!!!

tag
Regular Contributor

American Express 3X?!!!

I'm a full-time student and my income is $20,000; however, American Express approved my request for $12,000, a 300% increase. I am surprised because my income is low, but my credit score is fairly high. I've only had credit cards for a year and a half now and I've never had a card over $10,000 before. This is a huge surprise. 

American Express Blue Cash Every | Discover it | Citi Double Cash | Citi Custom Cash (10/2021) | Bank of America Cash Rewards | Chase Slate | Capital One Quicksilver | Amazon Store Card | PayPal Credit | J. Crew | Old Navy | Experian: 785 Equifax: 798 Transunion: 777 |
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: American Express 3X?!!!

That's great! Congratulations!

I actually increased mine from $4,000 to $8,000 on Friday evening. I should've tried for $12,000 and I guess in my mind I wanted to play it safe? lol Oh well, next time I think I'll try and increase it to somewhere in the $16,000 - $20,000 range. The rest of my cards pale in comparison. Very low limits.

Message 2 of 9
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

That's great! Congratulations!

I actually increased mine from $4,000 to $8,000 on Friday evening. I should've tried for $12,000 and I guess in my mind I wanted to play it safe? lol Oh well, next time I think I'll try and increase it to somewhere in the $16,000 - $20,000 range. The rest of my cards pale in comparison. Very low limits.

Thank you! I followed the instructions here at FICO forum; the author of the thread suggested its readers to request 3X. It isn't a risk to ask for too much because they do counter offer.