Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applied for a savings account and added a US Bank Cash+ VS Approval

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Applied for a savings account and added a US Bank Cash+ VS Approval

Let me start by saying I did not have any intention of opening a new credit line as I recently opened an SPG Luxury card earlier this month and my app spree days are hopefully just under 24 months behind me! Smiley Very Happy  My intent was to deepen my relationship with US Bank because I want to have the best profile possible for when I apply for the Altitude Reserve (the plan was and still is to apply for the Reserve in 1Q 2020.)

I applied for the Gold Checking at US Bank last week because the fees are waived if you have an existing credit account. That application went to pending.  Called on Tuesday for verification - and mentioned to the banker that I have a REI Mastercard issued by US Bank and wanted to confirm that holding this tradeline would help me bypass the fees.  She said it did.  Done, account approved.  I then applied for the Package Money Market Savings that afternoon - had my checking account been approved last week, I wanted to double it up, but I couldn't because of the pending app.  The application process went much smoother and I did get pre-approved offers to add a credit card to the app.  My only options were the Cash+ and the Platinum.  Each had an SL of $18,500.00 and the lowest APRs for new accounts.  When I saw the SL and it was not a toy limit, I couldn't refuse.  I accepted the offer for the Cash+, and by doing so, I was unable to accept the Platinum as well (the card doesn't interest me, but I would've been tempted to get 2 cards with the terms spelled out right there before the hard pull).

Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised with the instant approval.  When I applied for the REI card, I had to go through verification and that took a week as well to get approved.