cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for Amex Platinum AND Citi Double Cash!

tag
RiskJunkieMCD
Established Member

Approved for Amex Platinum AND Citi Double Cash!

Just sharing some happy news. I've been rebuilding for about 3 years now (started out with a really rough 495), and it's been tough to weather the periods of stagnation in between spurts of progress. 

I feel like I'm really getting somewhere now. I FINALLY got a CLI on my Discover card 2 years after it graduated, and quality of my pre-selected/qualified/approved offers has been steadily improving, even though my FICO8 has been stuck around 670-680 for a while now (still being dragged down but a couple of old derogatories, I assume).

I haven't applied for any new credit in a while because I didn't need it and didn't want the hard inquiries, but today I finally decided to bite the bullet. I followed up on two prequalified offers and now have a new Citi and a new Amex headed my way. I know those offers don't always come to anything, so I was honestly pretty shocked to be approved for both. These along with my new $5K limit on my Discover make me feel like I'm finally getting grownup credit and the mistakes of my 20s are behind me. Time to garden! (And maybe pick out a new wallet to hold my pretty new cards).

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Pway
Valued Contributor

Re: Approved for Amex Platinum AND Citi Double Cash!

Congrats on your rebuild and those nice approvals. 

Thank you for the wealth of knowledge I have learned from these forums. I am logging off as of November 9, 2022. I wish everyone great success.
Message 2 of 19
babygirl1256
Senior Contributor

Congrats on your Amex Platinum and your Citi Double Cash approvals . . . that's awesome. Best wishes on your continued rebuild!!! Smiley Wink

Starting FICO 8 Score in 06/2019: EQ-625, TU-649, EX-640
Current FICO 8 Score in 06/2021: EQ-796, TU-806, EX-812
Goal FICO 8 Score in 06/2022: EQ-825, TU-850, EX-850