Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for Amex Platinum

tag
ratchada
Contributor

Approved for Amex Platinum

Happy to report that I was instantly approved (my account showed a pre-approval) for the Amex Plat today.

My actual EX FICO 8 score (according to Experian) at the time of approval was 717, though Amex is showing a score of 669 from a couple months ago. As usual with current Amex cardholders (I have an Everyday card), there was no hard pull.

I'm very happy about this, as I'm still pretty new to credit cards: I only got my first, lowly CapOne Quicksilver One a year ago (CL started at $300 and is still only $500), and my only card with Amex up until now has been the Everyday, which will be a year old at the end of July. Needless to say, I've kept utilization below 10% for the most part, and made all payments on time. Income is in the high five figures. I'm 7/24 with this card; I won't be getting anything but business cards until I drop under 5/24 in July 2020. My most recent personal card before today was a Chase IHG in late October 2018.

Thanks to everyone who gave me encouragement in this post:

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Cards/Pre-approval-for-Amex-Plat-disappears-is-this-normal/m...

...which I made when a previous pre-approval for the Plat on my Amex account disappeared. As several posters assured me would happen, it came back!

I got my card number online and have added it to as many accounts as I can, plus I'm already 20% of the way to my MSR: just bought a first-class ticket to Hawaii for a vacation I'm planning in December!

EX (Fico 8): 755 TU (Vantage 3): 815 EQ (Vantage 3): 791