cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for both CSP and Cash+ ...now what?

tag
wiivile
New Contributor

Approved for both CSP and Cash+ ...now what?

I'm 26, and still kind of a newbie to this credit card thing.

The Chase Freedom was my first credit card, originally with a $1000 credit limit in 2009 and now that I've been using it for four years it has a $3200 credit limit. I needed more credit though, as I've been spending a lot more since 2009 (particularly on restaurants since I eat out every night and restaurants make up for at least 60% of my spending). I've been approaching 70% credit utilization every month on the Freedom (not good, but I've been paying it off before the statement closes so as to not damage my credit scores). So I decided that I needed to apply for another credit card. Shouldn't be a problem, since my FICO scores are all in the mid 700s.

Since I Have 111,000 UR points saved up after four years on my Freedom, and the Chase Sapphire Preferred offers the best redemption options for UR points (as well as a 40,000 point bonus), I wanted the CSP. However, since I only average $12K-$15K annual spend, and I wasn't sure that this was enough to justify the $95 annual fee - other cards with no AF may be more rewarding, particularly the U.S. Bank Cash+. Since the Cash+ offers 5% back on restaurants (up to $2,000 per quarter, and I do spend around $2,000 per quarter on restaurants), I could get at least $400 cash back every year (plus the rest of its 2% and 1% bonuses) with no annual fee. Even with the awesome redeption options of the CSP, I don't think it can top getting $400-$500+ cash back every year with no annual fee on only $12K-$15K spend.