Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best 2nd Credit Card? Update: PRG Approved

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best 2nd Credit Card? Update: PRG Approved

Hi guys,

I’m a 20 year old student and I’ve had the Citi Thank You Preferred for Students credit card for roughly 6 months. I’ve used it responsibly and today was actually the first time I checked my FICO score via Discover’s Credit Score Card and I had a 750 from Experian. Which prompted me to think: when should I apply for my second credit card and which should it be?

I was thinking about waiting a full year before I applied for my second card, but I might apply for a second one in the next few months if it’s reasonable. I was leaning towards the AMEX Gold card, but then again, I’m not entirely sure where to look for a second card.

Thanks for any help!

Update: I just went on AMEX to see if I pre-qualified for any cards, and I got a pre-qualification for the Everyday Credit Card, the Gold Premier Rewards, and the BCE.

Mod note:  I've updated your subject to reflect your approval; feel free to change/edit if you would like.  --UB

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
LCC_mk14
Regular Contributor

Re: Best 2nd Credit Card?

Hello and welcome!

First off, congrats on your score and progress! I’m not much older than you and it really is exciting to see things grow and happen.

From my experience, Discover was a great choice. I had a capital one platinum as my first and then got the discover. It was a lower starting line and still is, but I like the company. I always have even when I’ve been frustrating. They have cash back cards that do rotating 5% categories and 1% all other purchases. They also like thinner profiles.

Though your profile is thin, you may want to think of rewards you would benefit from. Travel? Cashback? Once you can answer that, you can look to see what lenders offer in that realm.