cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citi-Costco $1500 CLI to $37.5K (Soft Pull)

tag
Aim_High
Super Contributor

Citi-Costco $1500 CLI to $37.5K (Soft Pull)

I've been hitting CITI up regularly for a few months and they have been saying I had too many new accounts for a CLI.  Normally, when I've been eligible they've been giving me a $3K increase about every six months on average.   Today, they surprised me by approving the request but it was a little bittersweet, since they cut the increase increment to $1500.  But ... I'll take it for a soft pull.  So I increased from $36K to $37.5K.  Smiley Happy 

Maybe they are cutting the increment or maybe I'm close to reaching a high limit on the card they'll approve based on my spend and profile??   Or maybe it's still affected by those new accounts to a degree.  The card gets regular use but nowhere near that limit!  In the past few years, it's turned into more of my gas card (at 4%) than anything else, at least in months where I don't earn 5% on Discover or Freedom.   Since Costco takes Visa, I can now use my AOD FCU Visa there for 3% (instead of 2% on the Citi card), and my Bank of America Cash Rewards gives me 3.5% back since I moved assets to be in the Preferred Rewards program.    A few years ago, I was using the card more heavily for dining out and travel until I got my Chase Sapphire Reserve and AMEX Gold, so now it's a backup.   For anyone looking at the card, though, absent some better alternatives like these, it's a great card and I highly recommend it!  

Citi_Costco_CLI_20210104.jpg

Business Cards

Length of Credit > 40 years; Total Credit Limits >$898K
Top Lender TCL - Chase 156.4 - BofA 99.7 - AMEX 95.0 - CITI 94.5 - NFCU 80.0
AoOA > 30 years (Jun 1993); AoYA (Feb 2024)
* Hover cursor over cards to see name & CL, or press & hold on mobile app.
Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26
cashorcharge
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Citi-Costco $1500 CLI to $37.5K (Soft Pull)