cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citi Double Cash and Successful Recon for Chase Amazon Prime Rewards Visa!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Citi Double Cash and Successful Recon for Chase Amazon Prime Rewards Visa!!

A big thank you to all the advice I picked up from this board - because I just got approved for two cards this week (and first unsecured cards ever) - Citi Double Cash and Amazon Prime Rewards Visa (after recon with Chase)!

A bit of backstory: I defaulted on two private student loans back in 2010, 2 years after I graduated, which tanked my credit... not that I knew anything about credit scores back then.  And then I had two small medical bills ($150 total) go to collections in 2012, unbeknownst to me (large hospital group never even sent me a bill!). Up until 2015 I had no idea about this because I had never checked my credit reports until then. As soon as I found out about those, I paid them in full - unfortunately they are still stuck on my report for a while, but at least they show as paid.  My score jumped up about 40 points after paying those.  I had also tried to get a loan for a programming bootcamp through a couple lenders with zero success in late 2015, so I was feeling pretty hopeless financially at that point. In February 2016 I tried applying for an unsecured card through my bank, but no luck with a score around 580. I was able to get a secured card with a $300 CL through my bank. So for the last year I have a perfect payment history on that card (and PIF every month), and leave a small balance so it doesn't report at 0% utilization. My score has slowly climbed as I've kept on top of that card, and in September I was able to get a $28,000 car loan (1.9% interest) - also perfect payment history on that loan.  Anyway, about two weeks ago I signed up on here to see my real Fico scores (instead of Fako's on credit karma... not to slam them though, because I've made a lot of headway rebuilding my credit using that