cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citi Double Cash with FICO 750 and only Discover IT card since October, should I apply?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Citi Double Cash with FICO 750 and only Discover IT card since October, should I apply?

I have a Discover IT card and a 750 FICO score. I always pay my bills in time and have no late payment, low utilisation. I'm new to the US, so this is my first credit card, which I had since October.

Earlier this month I applied for a Chase Sapphire Preferred card but was denied because of "not enough accounts opened". I made that hard inquiry before this month's statement, and Discover reports that my FICO score went up from 746 to 750. Is the hard inquiry taken into account in there?

Before that (November) I had tried to get an Amazon Credit card from Chase but was denied.

I'd like to have a MasterCard for places where they don't accept Discover and for when the double cash back offer ends on the Discover card.

Should I apply for the Citi Double Cash now? I'm afraid of having too many inquiries.

Thanks

Message 1 of 28
27 REPLIES 27
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Citi Double Cash with FICO 750 and only Discover IT card since October, should I apply?

I think you'd be good for the double cash
Message 2 of 28
crrredit
Established Contributor

Re: Citi Double Cash with FICO 750 and only Discover IT card since October, should I apply?

Your score is definitely high enough to apply for DC, but if you got turned down by Citi for not enough accounts earlier this month, then that hasn't changed, so getting approved is doubtful. Check their prequal site and see if anything comes up. 

Inquiries get recorded very quickly, so it's probably already on your report and part of your score.

Message 3 of 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Check their prequal. I got approved with score similar as you and with 14 inquiry.

Your score isn't an issue
Message 4 of 28
Anonymous
Not applicable