Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover CLI Denial then Approved

tag
Credit_Aficionado
Valued Member

Discover CLI Denial then Approved

I decided to hit the luv button on my Discover It card because it had been just shy of 3 months since I last requested an increase. This was on 9/1 and it was denied due to "insufficient experience with current credit". However, early this morning (9/8) I recieved an email that my credit limit was increased to $6,800 from $4,500 due to "overall excellent credit management". So I'm thinking that I just hit that luv button just a little bit too early. It was kind of weird that it happened like this, nonetheless I am happy with it!

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover CLI Denial then Approved

I am new to this journey but may be you can request again for an increase now. Same happened to me this morning. I have been requesting for CLI since June right after my secured card became unsecured. But I got denials everytime. So decided to keep it away for sometime and suddenly got auto CLI from $2000 to $2600. I have immediately requested for a CLI and got $400 approval bringing it up to $3K. Not a big increase but still worth to check if you can get some more luv.
Message 2 of 13
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

Congrats opSmiley Happy just remember there is no set rule for Discover cli. No 91/3 exists.
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

This is comforting to hear as I recieved a denial just a day or two ago on my first attempt. Do you think it matters that I haven't hit 90 days with the card despite the third statement cutting on the 6th?

The 24th will be 90 days I believe. I have heard conflicting things about 90 days vs. 3 Statements... 

Message 4 of 13
HighAchiever
Established Contributor

@Credit_Aficionado wrote: